Soil Types

The quality and variety of the soils found on the estate are a key asset, particularly as they have been well looked after in the past.
They were, and still are, cultivated in the traditional way (ploughing and addition of organic matter). This means that they still contain a great deal of life (plenty of micro-organisms and worms), which leads to good root growth, improved nutrient supply for the vine and therefore a superb expression of "terroir".

The soils on the estate can be divided into four major groups:

Schistous soils

These very ancient soils come from clay sediments that were once compressed on the sea bed (300 to 600 million years ago). Placed under huge pressure at high temperatures, they eventually became schist and reached the earth's surface at the end of the Primary era (125 million years ago). Schist is a soft, foliated rock that breaks up easily, allowing the vines to spread their roots and providing excellent drainage. These soils help the grapes to achieve a good level of ripeness. On the estate they are currently planted with Grenache and Syrah.

Clayey-limestone soils

Limestone comes from the sea or lakes. The Languedoc was covered by sea for over 100 million years during the Secondary era, leaving thick layers of limestone formed from shells and coral. From these layers came the various types of clayey-limestone soils.

There are three main types on the estate, which vary according to geographical location:

- Limestone plateau and scree
There is some phonolitic limestone on the estate, which is formed by splinters of limestone deposited on the soil surface. These light-coloured "lauses" accumulate the heat, reflecting it upwards and creating a microclimate around the grapes, bringing them to an excellent level of ripeness.
On the estate these soils are planted with Carignan.

- Glacis and outwash slopes
The "gresette" soils are formed by small, angular splinters of limestone that have been carried by glaciers and rivers and accumulated at the edge of the limestone plateau.
These deep soils are very poor and porous, giving the vines a regular supply of water. The roots penetrate easily and the vines produce high-quality grapes that reach peak ripeness, even in very dry conditions.
On the estate they are planted with Syrah, Mourvèdre, Grenache and Carignan.

Sandstone Slopes

These soils are formed from a high proportion of red clay combined with limestone and sandstone pebbles. They hold water superbly, but also drain well. They are high in quality and rare.
On the estate they are planted with Syrah, Mourvdre and Carignan.

SO8366-LOGO.png
 

Grape Varieties

Along with the diversity of soils and microclimates, the many different grape varieties planted at La Madura mean that the wines produced for blending have a very wide range of aromas and flavours.

Les Carignan

Le Sauvignon blanc

Piquepoul_blanc.jpg

Le Piquepoul blanc

SO8366-LOGO.png

Environment and Climate

 

CLIMATE

Saint-Chinian has a Mediterranean climate, with hot, dry summers and fairly mild winters. However, it is close to the mountains (Montagne Noire and Monts de l'Espinouse), which bring a certain coolness to these "terroirs".

The wind plays a key role in the area. It can occasionally be a nuisance, breaking young shoots and thereby reducing the harvest, but it has the advantage of reducing the level of moisture in the plants (limiting the spread of Mildew) and around the grapes (reducing problems of rot). This means that the vines need to be sprayed less and the grapes can be left to ripen in peace.

ENVIRONMENT

Certain plant and animal species are linked to the various different types of countryside around Saint-Chinian, creating biodiversity in the environment.
The plant species are very varied. As well as being pleasing to the eye, they create a very evident scented atmosphere that is specific to each type of soil.
Certain species are very representative of the “Saint-Chinianais”. Cistus ladanifer (gum rockrose) is a particularly interesting example. This endemic variety is found within a very limited area and produces a very strong-smelling gum (used in the perfume industry). We sometimes find this scent in our wines during fermentation. All these “garrigue” scents help to form the bouquet of our wines and are often revealed as the wines mature.

This diversity of plant life also provides a home for a wide variety of animals. Some species may act as auxiliary fauna for the vines, i.e. they prey on species that are damaging to the vines. As long as we maintain it, this natural balance means that the vines are at less risk of disease.

SO8366-LOGO.png
 

Training and Growing

Goblet pruning is still used on the old vines and varieties with an upright bearing, such as Carignan, Mourvèdre and even Grenache. The method is traditional to the region and produces a good area of leaf cover exposed to the light for those varieties that are suited to it.

The other plots are trellised to keep the plant growth upright and give it good exposure to the sun and the air.

The trellises are either new or rebuilt to give them sufficient height and provide the vine with ideal leaf cover.



Video by Dominique Boudet: click here

The vines are pruned in either the bilateral cordon style or, for the more recently planted vines, in a personal pruning (between fan-shaped and goblet style). It allows a better aeration than the gobelet and a better ageing than the cordon (we think).
Video by Dominique Boudet: click here

GROWING TECHNIQUES

The soils are maintained in the traditional way. The vines are ploughed to restrict weed growth, mainly in the spring to limit competition. This also aerates the soil to maintain good organic activity and keep the soil full of life. A bit of grass and weed is allowed to grow after the harvest and during the winter to help with this activity and improve drainage.
 

The soils are analysed regularly and maintained by adding organic matter where necessary.

The fight against diseases and insect pests is dictated purely by observation and weather information, which means that we can keep spraying to the strict minimum (usually 2 or 3 sessions). It also means that we use less fuel, thereby reducing our ‘carbon footprint’, and that the soil is less compacted. 

Our choice of spraying products is also determined by our concern to maintain biological balance in the vineyards, their soil and their environment. We are therefore fighting disease in an environmentally-friendly way, without rigidity but with an intellectual rigour and honesty. 

La Madura prefers to use a preventive approach, doing a lot of thinning work in spring and summer to improve the flow of air around the vine and the grapes: removing suckers from the centre of the trunk, and thinning out the leaves. This sort of work is time-consuming and labour-intensive, but it keeps the vines and grapes healthier and improves ripening.

In addition, we choose our products out of a concern to maintain the biological balance of the vines, the soil and their environment. We’re involved in an environmentally-friendly approach that doesn’t follow any particular dogma but aims to be rigorous and intellectually honest. As a result of this approach we were awarded HAUTE VALEUR ENVIRONNEMENTALE (HVE = High Environmental Value) certification in 2015.
 

HVE is a national scheme set up by the “Grenelle 2” Environment Act, the first official texts of which were published in the Official Journal in June 2011. It covers four environmental aspects: biodiversity, pest management strategy, fertilization management and water resource management. See the bottom of the page for further information.

Video by Dominique Boudet: click here

NOTE ON RESPECT FOR THE ENVIRONMENT
(in response to those who ask us why we don't have the "organic" label)

The way in which we work is determined by ecology: concern for the environment and its balances (the life of the soil, supportive animal life, plants and other animals) and limited inputs and CO2 production.
Sadly, little consideration is given to these aspects in the “organic” charter. You can kill your soils with copper (a heavy metal), spray excessively for no reason (not a “responsible” approach), use huge amounts of diesel fuel, compact your soils, not care for your ecosystem, machine-harvest, etc. and abide by the charter (1). Organic certification is certainly better than over-using ecologically toxic products, but it’s not really a cure-all.
What we are concerned about first and foremost is to have living soils. We allow the vineyards to grass over naturally after the harvest until springtime (we plough during the warm weather only, and then as little as possible); this encourages soil life, limits gullying and cuts down fuel consumption. Chemical fertilisers are banned: we add only organic matter, using natural products of plant origin (organic label !). We do a great deal of thinning work in the vines (using a lot of labour for meticulous shoot removal, trellising, leaf-thinning, etc.) to limit production, encourage the grapes to ripen, improve their expression of terroir and ensure that they are in good health. This preventive work means that we can keep spraying to a minimum as it allows for good air circulation around the vines and bunches. In a normal year we only spray twice (to fight against oidium, no anti-mildew spraying). We believe that very few wine estates go this far in their approach as it is very expensive in terms of labour costs. We hope that, one day, a label will be created that objectively and scientifically incorporates all the variables linked to environmental protection. This point was raised during the French government’s Grenelle de l’environnement (environmental consultation exercise). We are waiting, in the hope that an ecologically coherent label will emerge.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information you may require. You are also very welcome to come and see what we do in our vineyards: words are one thing, action is another.

(1) - We need to understand that a so-called “natural” product (because, let’s face it, there’s chemistry behind a bag of Bordeaux mixture or sulphur) is not necessarily less toxic than a synthetic product, which in many cases reproduces a molecule that exists in nature. It may be targeted and harmless to supportive animal life, soils, etc., and used in low doses (of a few grams per hectare) while sulphur and copper are applied in doses of several kg per hectare. When it is effective, it requires less use of the tractor. These synthetic products obviously need to be chosen with care, but it cannot be said that, because they are synthetic, they are more toxic. Copper is a highly toxic product that stays in the soil for a long time (decades). Its prolonged use as part of a so-called “organic” prevention campaign can slowly kill the soil.

HAUTE VALEUR ENVIRONNEMENTALE (HVE):

“Environmental Certification of Agricultural Operations” is a national scheme set up by the “Grenelle 2” Environment Act, the first official texts of which were published in the Official Journal in June 2011.

The official scheme was set up and recognized by the Government and is applied on 3 levels to enable the farmer or wine-grower to move forward in stages. “High Environmental Value” is the 3rd and final level of commitment representing the scheme’s level of excellence. It alone gives access to the regulated “High Environmental Value” label. It covers four environmental aspects: biodiversity, pest management strategy, fertilization management and water resource management.

Niveau 1 : This level covers the key regulatory obligations relating to good agro-ecological conditions, plant health and environmental protection.
From a technical point of view, the agricultural operation must:
- Have an assessment carried out by an SCA-approved organization (SCA = Système de Conseil Agricole = Agricultural Advisory System), in accordance with a set of specifications very similar to the cross-compliance rules covering CAP grants (CAP = Common Agricultural Policy).
- Have an assessment of the operation carried out in relation to the Level 2 reference document or in relation to the Level 3 environmental performance thresholds.

Niveau 2 : This level covers the good practices required to construct a basis for progress.

From a technical point of view, these are mainly good environmental protection practices that should be introduced on the operation. The farmer or wine-grower should:

- Embark on a progress strategy based on 16 environmental improvement commitments.

- Have an audit carried out by an independent body to confirm his level.

The farmer or wine-grower may work towards this Level 2 commitment by following a strategy recognized as being Level 2 equivalent. In France, various forms of certification such as “Agriculture raisonnée”, “Terra Vitis”, “Qualenvi”, “Bio”, etc., are accepted as being equivalent to Level 2.


Niveau 3 : This is the scheme’s most stringent level.

From a technical point of view, the farmer or wine-grower must achieve levels of environmental performance measured by indicators in several areas:

1- Biodiversity: This refers to improvements introduced by the farmer or wine-grower to encourage and protect auxiliary fauna, pollinating insects, vineyard landscapes, game refuges, etc. (we talk of “AEI” (Agro-Ecological Infrastructures) and “Landscape Features”). These semi-natural environments, essential to the implementation of a sustainable development policy, form habitats, transition zones and connectivity environments that favour the diversity of plant and animal species; for example: grass strips, hedges, copses, low dry stone walls, mountain pasture, grassland forbidden to grazing animals, etc.

2- Crop protection: Even if it is technically necessary to use pest control products, excessive use has negative impacts on the environment. We are interested here in alternatives to chemical control, such as sexual confusion or tillage.

3- Crop maintenance: This is concerned with grassing, nitrate fertilization and irrigation practices, if these are used on the operation.

4- The influence of inputs on the financial balance:Inputs(pest control products, electricity, fuel, boxes, bottles, etc. in terms of their financial value) are compared to the operation’s earnings.

An audit has to be carried out by an accreditedcertification body to certify the operation’s environmental performance.

The certification award gives the farmer or wine-grower the right to use the reserved, regulated statements: “High Environmental Value Operation” and “Wine from a High Environmental Value estate”.


For further information:
 

http://agriculture.gouv.fr/Certification-environnementale-des,16358
http://agriculture.gouv.fr/IMG/pdf/plaquette-certification-Environnementale.pdf

SO8366-LOGO.png

Domaine La Madura

Route de Salabert - 34360 Saint-Chinian - France
 

© 2020 La Madura - Réalisation : Grafix

Les Sols

Les sols du domaine constituent un atout primordial. Il sont un reflet de la diversité des types de sols que l'on retrouve dans l'appellation Saint-Chinian (qui en fait une lieu très singulier pour les géologues). Chaque terroir permettra une expression différente des cépages et sera un élément très favorable à la complexité des vins par l'assemblage. 
 

Ces sols sont cultivés de façon traditionnelle (travail du sol et apports de matière organique en entretien), ce qui leur permet d’être bien vivants (beaucoup de micro-organismes et de vers de terre) et ainsi favoriser une parfaite expression des terroirs par un bon enracinement et une meilleure alimentation de la vigne.

Il est possible de classer les sols de l'exploitation en quatre grandes catégories:

Sols de Schistes

Ces sols très anciens sont issus de sédiments argileux comprimés au fond des mers (300 à 600 millions d'années) qui, soumis à de fortes pressions et à des températures élevées, devinrent des schistes. Ils ont été amenés à la surface de la terre à la fin de l'ère Primaire (125 millions d'années). Cette roche feuilletée, clivable et tendre, permet un bon enracinement de la vigne et favorise le drainage. Ces sols autorisent une très bonne maturation de la vendange. Sur la propriété ils sont actuellement plantés de Grenache, de Syrah et de Mourvèdre.

Sols argilo-calcaires

Le calcaire est d'origine marine ou lacustre. La mer a occupé le Languedoc pendant plus de 100 millions d'années au cours de l'ère secondaire, et déposé d'épaisses masses de calcaires provenant de coquillages ou coraux. Ils sont à l'origine de différents types de sols argilo-calcaires.

Selon leur situation géographique, on en trouve deux types principaux sur la propriété:

- Causses et éboulis calcaires
Des calcaires phonolitiques existent sur la propriété, ils sont constitués d'éclats calcaires déposés à la surface du sol. Ces lauses sont de véritables accumulateurs de chaleur. Très clairs, ils rayonnent de façon importante et créent un microclimat au niveau des grappes, qui permet une très bonne maturation des raisins.
Sur la propriété, ces sols sont plantés de Grenache.

- Glacis et pentes d'épandage
Les sols de gresettes sont constitués de petits éclats calcaires anguleux, qui, entraînés dans un transport fluvio-glaciaire, se sont accumulés en bout de causse.
Ces sols profonds sont très pauvres et poreux. Ils permettent ainsi une alimentation en eau régulière de la vigne; les racines y pénètrent facilement. Ils sont très qualitatifs car ils permettent une bonne et complète maturation, même dans des conditions très sèches.
Sur la propriété, ils sont plantés de Syrah, Mourvèdre, Grenache et Carignan.

Sols de grès

Constituées d'une proportion importante d'argiles rouges associées à des cailloux calcaires et gréseux. Ces sols ont une excellente capacité de rétention en eau, tout en restant suffisamment drainant. Ce sont des sols très qualitatifs et rares.
Sur la propriété, ces sols sont plantés de Syrah et de Mourvèdre.

SO8366-LOGO.png
 

Cépages

Associé à la diversité des sols et des microclimats, l'encépagement diversifié de La Madura permet d'étendre la palette aromatique de ses vins lors des assemblages.

Les Carignan

Le Sauvignon blanc

Piquepoul_blanc.jpg

Le Piquepoul blanc

SO8366-LOGO.png

Environnement et Climat

 

LE CLIMAT

De type méditerranéen, le climat de Saint-Chinian est caractérisé par des étés chauds et secs et des hivers assez doux. Toutefois, la proximité de la montagne (Montagne noire et Monts de l'Espinouse) apporte une certaine fraîcheur à ces terroirs. 

Le vent est un élément climatique important de la région. Gênant parfois, il peut être à l'origine de pertes de récolte en cassant de jeunes rameaux. En revanche, il présente l'intérêt de réduire l'humidité au sein de la végétation (limitant le développement du Mildiou) et au sein des grappes (limitant les problèmes de pourriture), ce qui permet de diminuer le nombre de traitements et de laisser mûrir les raisins plus sereinement

L'ENVIRONNEMENT

Des espèces végétales et animales sont liées aux différents terroirs qui entourrent Saint-Chinian. Elles participent à la biodiversité de cet environnement. Les espèces végétales sont très variées, outre le plaisir des yeux, elles produisent ne ambiance olfactive très présente et spécifique à chaque type de sol.
Certaines espèces sont très emblématiques du Saint-Chinianais. Le ciste ladanifère en est un exemple particulièrement intéressant. Cette variété endémique, présente sur une zone très limitée, produit une gomme (utilisée en parfumerie) qui est très odorante. On retrouve parfois cette odeur dans les vins en cours de fermentation. Toutes ces odeurs de la garrigue, participent au bouquuet de nos vins et souvent se révêlent avec l'évolution des vins.

Cette diversité végétales permet aussi d'abriter une faune diverse. Elle peut pour certaines espèces avoir un rôle de faune auxiliaire pour la vigne, c'est à dire que certaines espèces sont des prédateurs d'espèces nuisibles pour la vigne. Cet équilibre naturel permet d'être moins sujet à ces maladies dans la mesure où on le préserve.

SO8366-LOGO.png
 

Culture et Conduite

La taille en Gobelet est encore très présente dans les vieilles vignes, pour les cépages dont le port est érigé tel que le Carignan, le Mourvèdre, voire le Grenache. Ce mode de taille traditionnel de la région permet d’obtenir une bonne surface foliaire exposée à la lumière pour les cépages qui s’y prêtent

Les autres parcelles sont palissées, de manière à maintenir la végétation dressée et permettre ainsi une bonne exposition aux rayons du soleil et une aération de la végétation. Les palissages sont soit neufs soit refaits afin d’être suffisamment hauts et fournir une surface foliaire optimale à la vigne.

Illustration Vidéo par Dominique Boudet: cliquer ici

Le mode de taille utilisé est, soit le cordon bilatéral, soit une taille maison entre un gobelet étalé et éventail pour les vignes récentes. Cette taille nous permet d'allier une aération et un espacement des grappes idéal avec les avantages du gobelet en terme d'évolution dans le temps par rapport au cordon.

Illustration Vidéo par Dominqie Boudet: cliquer ici

LE MODE DE CULTURE 

L’entretien des sols est traditionnel. Les vignes sont labourées de manière à limiter le développement des herbes, essentiellement au printemps pour limiter la concurrence vis à vis de la vigne. Cela permet aussi d’aérer la terre pour y maintenir une bonne activité biologique et conserver des sols vivants.

Le maintien d’un peu d’herbe après les vendanges et pendant l'hiver permettra aussi d’y participer tout en améliorant leurs capacités de drainage. Sous les rangs, le sol est entretenu mécaniquement avec un intercep. La finition est ensuite réalisée à la pioche.

Ces sols sont entretenus par des apports de matière organique, guidés par des analyses de terre.

Au printemps et en été les travaux en vert sont très importants, épamprage au cœur du pied, palissage très soigné, effeuillage et éclaircissage si nécessaire. Ce travail long (et couteux en main d'oeuvre) permet de préserver un bon état sanitaire mais aussi d'assurer une bien meilleure maturation grace à une parfaite aération de la végétation.

Cela constitue une prophylaxie importante afin de se préserver des différentes maladies cryptogamiques, de façon la plus naturelle qui soit, et ainsi de limiter au maximum le nombre de traitements nécessaires. Le meilleur et le plus écologique des traitements est celui que l'on ne fait pas.

Concernant la lutte contre les maladies et ravageurs, elle n’est dictée que par l’observation et les informations climatiques, de manière à limiter les traitements au strict nécessaire (2 à 3 en moyenne) et ,en général, uniquement contre l'oïdium, contre le mildiou. Cela permet aussi de réduire la consommation de carburant pour un bilan carbone meilleur et un moindre tassement des sols.
Par ailleurs, le choix des produits est conditionné par une volonté de respect des équilibres biologiques de la vigne, du sol et de son environnement. C'est une lutte respectueuse de l'environnement hors de tout dogme mais avec rigueur et honnêteté intellectuelle. Depuis 2015, cette démarche nous a permis d'obtenir la certification HAUTE VALEUR ENVIRONNEMENTALE (HVE).

La HVE est un dispositif national issu de la loi Grenelle 2 de l’environnement dont les premiers textes officiels sont parus en juin 2011 au Journal Officiel. Il porte sur quatre domaines environnementaux: biodiversité, stratégie phytosanitaire, gestion de la fertilisation, gestion de la ressource en eau. Pour en savoir plus, voir en bas de page.

Illustration vidéo de Dominque Boudet: cliquer ici

NOTE SUR LE RESPECT DE L'ENVIRONNEMENT 
(en réponse à ceux qui nous demandent pourquoi nous n'avons pas le label "bio")

L’écologie, le respect de l’environnement et de ses équilibres (vie des sols, faune auxiliaire, faune et flore), la limitation des intrants et de la production de CO2 sont pour nous des éléments déterminants dans notre façon de travailler (et, au delà, dans notre vie quotidienne). Tous ces paramètres ne sont malheureusement que très peu pris en compte dans la charte « bio ». Il est possible de déteriorer ses sols avec du cuivre (métal lourd), traiter beaucoup trop et sans raison (démarche non raisonnée), consommer du gasoil à outrance, tasser ses sols, ne pas respecter son écosystème, vendanger à la machine… et respecter la charte (1). Une certification « bio » est certes mieux qu’un abus de produits écologiquement toxiques mais ce n’est certainement pas la panacée car les produits utilisés ne sont pas du tout neutre pour l'environnement voire toxiques.
Pour ce qui nous concerne, nous cherchons d’abord à avoir des sols vivants en laissant l’enherbement s’installer naturellement après vendange jusqu’au printemps (labour pendant la période chaude uniquement et le moins possible), cela favorise la vie des sols, limite le ravinement et réduit la consommation de gasoil. Les engrais chimiques sont bannis et seuls des apports de matière organiques sont réalisés avec des produits naturels d’origine végétale (homologués bio!). Les travaux en vert dans la vigne sont très importants (besoin important en main d’œuvre pour épamprage méticuleux, palissage, effeuillage…) de façon à limiter la production, favoriser la maturation des raisins et l’expression du terroir mais aussi à obtenir un bon état sanitaire. Cette prophylaxie nous permet de limiter au maximum les traitements grâce à une très bonne aération de la végétation et des grappes. Dans une année normale seuls deux traitements sont réalisés (pour lutter contre l’oïdium, aucun anti-mildiou). Il nous semble que rares sont les propriétés qui vont aussi loin dans cette démarche car elle est très coûteuse en main d’œuvre. Notre espoir serait qu’un label soit créé qui intègre de façon objective et scientifique tous les paramètres liés au respect de l’environnement.

Nous nous tenons à votre disposition pour tout complément d’information si vous le souhaitez. Nous vous invitons à venir observer sur place notre démarche car le discours est une chose, la pratique en est une autre.

(1).Un produits  dit "naturel" n'est pas forçément moins toxique qu'un prouite de synthèse. Dans de nombreux cas, le produit de synthèse reproduit une molécule présente dans la nature pour ses capacités contre une maladie. Il peut être plus ciblé et respectueux de la faune auxiliaire, des sols etc… et utilisé à des doses faibles (de l’ordre de g /ha) alors que soufre et cuivre sont appliqués à des doses en kg/ha. Souvent plus efficace et plus ciblé  il permettra moins de passages en tracteur et affectera moins la faune auxiliaire et la vie des sols. Il y bien sûr un tri à faire dans les produits de synthèse mais on ne peut pas dire que parce qu’ils sont de synthèse ils sont plus toxiques. A contrario, il existe dans la nature de nombreux produits toxiques. Le cuivre est un produit toxique et persistant dans les sols (pendant des décennies). Son utilisation prolongée dans le cadre d’une lutte dite « bio » affecte durablementla vie des sols.

HAUTE VALEUR ENVIRONNEMENTALE

La « Certification Environnementale des Exploitations » est un dispositif national issu de la loi Grenelle 2 de l’environnement dont les premiers textes officiels sont parus en juin 2011 au Journal Officiel.

Ce dispositif officiel créé et reconnu par l’État se présente en 3 échelons pour permettre à l’agriculteur et au vigneron d’avancer par étape. La « Haute Valeur Environnementale » est le 3ème et ultime niveau d’engagement ; il représente le niveau d’excellence du dispositif, et lui seul donne accès à la mention réglementée de « Haute Valeur Environnementale ». Il porte sur quatre domaines environnementaux: biodiversité, stratégie phytosanitaire, gestion de la fertilisation, gestion de la ressource en eau.

Niveau 1 :
Ce niveau recouvre les obligations réglementaires essentielles en matière de bonnes conditions agro-écologiques, de santé des végétaux et de préservation de l’environnement.Sur le plan technique, l’exploitation agricole doit :- Réaliser un bilan, par un organisme habilité SCA (Système de Conseil Agricole), selon un cahier des charges très proche des règles d’éco- conditionnalité des aides PAC (Politique Agricole Commune).- Réaliser une évaluation de l'exploitation au regard du référentiel de 2ème niveau ou au regard des seuils de performance environnementale de 3ème niveau.

Niveau 2 : Ce niveau recouvre des points de bonnes pratiques pour construire une base de progrès.
Sur le plan technique, ce sont essentiellement des moyens de bonnes pratiques de préservation de l’environnement à mettre en œuvre sur l’exploitation. Pour cela, l’agriculteur et le vigneron doivent :
- Engager une démarche de progrès en travaillant sur 16 engagements d’amélioration environnementale.
- Réaliser un audit, par un organisme indépendant, pour faire valider son niveau.
L’engagement dans ce niveau 2 peut être réalisé dans le cadre d’une démarche reconnue équivalente de niveau 2. Différentes certifications telles que Agriculture raisonnée, Terra Vitis, Qualenvi, Bio etc. donnent une équivalence au niveau 2.


Niveau 3 : C’est le niveau d’excellence du dispositif.
Sur le plan technique, l’agriculteur et le vigneron doivent atteindre des seuils de performance environnementale mesurés par des indicateurs dans plusieurs domaines:


1- La biodiversité: Ce sont les aménagements consacrés par l’agriculteur et le vigneron pour favoriser et protéger la faune auxiliaire, les insectes pollinisateurs, les paysages viticoles, les refuges pour gibier… (on parle d’IAE « Infrastructures Agro-Ecologiques » et de « Particularités Topographiques ». Ces milieux semi-naturels, essentiels à la mise en œuvre d’une politique de développement durable, constituent des habitats, des zones de transition et des milieux de déplacement favorables à la diversité des espèces végétales et animales; par exemple: des bandes enherbées, des haies, des bosquets, des murets, des estives, des zones herbacées mises en défens, etc.


2- La protection des cultures: Même si le recours aux produits phytosanitaires est une nécessité technique, les excès engendrent des impacts négatifs sur l’environnement. On s’intéresse ici aux méthodes alternatives à la lutte chimique, comme la confusion sexuelle ou le travail du sol.


3- L’entretien des cultures: Cette thématique se préoccupe des pratiques d’enherbement, de fertilisation azotée ou d’irrigation s’il y en a sur l’exploitation.


4- Le poids des intrants dans la balance économique: Les intrants (produits phytosanitaires, électricité, carburants, cartons, bouteilles… en valeur économique) sont comparés au chiffre d’affaires de l’exploitation.
 

Il faire réaliser un audit par un organisme de certification accrédité pour attester de ses performances environnementales.

L’obtention de la certification donne la possibilité de revendiquer la mention réservée et réglementée « d’Exploitation de Haute Valeur environnementale » et de « vin issu d’une exploitation de Haute Valeur Environnementale ».


 

Pour plus d’informations :

http://agriculture.gouv.fr/Certification-environnementale-des,16358
http://agriculture.gouv.fr/IMG/pdf/plaquette-certification-Environnementale.pdf

SO8366-LOGO.png

Domaine La Madura

Route de Salabert - 34360 Saint-Chinian - France
 

© 2020 La Madura - Réalisation : Grafix